Skip to main content
Back to The Full Scoop

Congratulations to the Community Champion Award winner

This outstanding case manager received the Community Champion Award by Mom's Meals and USAging.

July 17, 2023

Congratulations to the Community Champion Award winner

The Community Champion Award by Mom’s Meals® and USAging recognized Theresa Bracher, LSW, from the Council on Aging.

Theresa was presented the Community Champion Award by John Phillips, vice president of national program development at Mom’s Meals on July 16, 2023, at the USAging Annual Conference in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Community Champion Winner

She was nominated by Teri Bunting from Help4 Seniors. Teri shared that Theresa thrives in her work, especially when working on behalf of clients who have more complicated needs.

During her 25 years with COA, and eight years prior working in the behavioral health field, Theresa has helped hundreds of clients maintain their health and well-being. She not only manages the amount and timing of the services her clients receive, but she also has a great ability to recognize when something may be wrong in their lives, and then jump into action going above and beyond to solve the issue.

About the award

Three years ago, the Community Champion Award was founded to recognize case managers.

The Community Champion Award program is designed to:

  • Highlight outstanding achievements by Area Agency on Aging and Title VI Native American Aging Program case managers in the areas of nutrition, health and healthy lifestyles
  • Celebrate case managers who are doing outstanding work in their local communities
  • Underscore the value of the case manager’s role in supporting the whole health of our communities
  • Promote awareness of the importance of nutrition in overall health, particularly to reduce the impact of social determinants, to support individuals who want to age in their homes, and to support the management of chronic conditions

Congratulations again to Theresa and to all the nominees!

Want to learn more?

Discover more about the Community Champion Award as well as more on this year’s winner, past winners and case manager nomination information.